Inkwell Awards 2023 Winners party time - Comics for Sinners

Inkwell Awards

Published on May 23rd, 2023 | by Richard Boom


Inkwell Awards 2023 Winners party time

The Inkwell Awards has announced the winners of its 16th annual awards for excellence in the comic-book inking art form.

Nominees were chosen by a separate and independent nomination committee based on their own research as well as from artist submissions. Voting by professionals and fans took place for two weeks in April-May on the official ballot at the non-profit advocacy’s website. After 2748 ballots were tallied, one winner was chosen in each of five categories for 2022 cover-dated interior American published comic-book material.

The winners are listed below in bold with their credits, votes and the percentage of votes received, along with the other nominees in alphabetical order.

FAVORITE INKER (Favorite ink artist over the pencil work of another artist; cannot also be nominated for the “Props” award): Walden Wong (857 votes, 31%)Amazing Spider-Man, Darkhold Omega, Edge of Spider-Verse, Marvel Voices: Community, Miles Morales: Spider-Man, Wakanda, What-if? Miles Morales [Marvel]

Other nominees: Jonathan Glapion, Cam Smith, Dexter Vines

MOST-ADAPTABLE (Artist showing exceptional ink style versatility over other pencilers): Walden Wong (688 votes, 25%)Amazing Spider-Man, Darkhold Omega, Edge of Spider-Verse, Marvel Voices: Community, Miles Morales: Spider-Man, Wakanda, What-if? Miles Morales [Marvel]

Other nominees: Scott Hanna, Matt Santorelli, Cam Smith, LeBeau Underwood

PROPS AWARD (Inker deserving of more attention. The same inker cannot be nominated for this award and Favorite Inker; nor past Favorite Inker recipients): Adriano Di Benedetto (1687 votes, 61%)Batman [DC]

Other nominees: Andrew Hennessy, Matt Santorelli, Le Beau Underwood

The S.P.A.M.I. AWARD (Small Press And Mainstream Independent, non-Marvel or DC work): David Cabeza (866 votes, 32%)Rivers of London [Titan]

Other nominees: Terry Moore, Chuck Morgan, Andrew Pepoy

ALL-IN-ONE AWARD (Favorite artist known for inking his/her own pencils): Nir Levie (1042 votes, 38%)BioRipple [Heavy Metal]

Other nominees: Andrew Pepoy, Greg Smallwood

 Full acceptance statements from the award recipients and much more can be found in the EXPANDED 2023 Winners Results article and they will be found in the “Award Recipients” section of the Inkwell Awards’ website in the near future. 

The internal/community Above & Beyond Awards were announced recently. The internally-chosen lifetime achievement accolades, the Joe Sinnott Hall of Fame Award and the Stacey Aragon Special Recognition Award (SASRA), were announced earlier on March 9th.

Since the pandemic the Inkwells have been reporting annual results online (as it originally did from 2008-2010) and will continue to do so until another convention offers to be a new host show for the live ceremony.

The Inkwell Awards is the only official 501(c)(3) non-profit organization whose mission is to promote and educate regarding the art form of comic-book inking, as well as annually recognize the best ink artists and their work. Established in 2008, the Inkwells are overseen by a volunteer committee of industry professionals and assisted by various professional ambassadors and contributors. They sponsor the Dave Simons Inkwell Memorial Scholarship Fund for the Kubert School and host the Joe Sinnott Hall of Fame Award.

Tags: ,

About the Author

Richard is the driving force behind Comics for Sinners. His love and admiration for female comic book characters is virtually unparalleled, which immediately explains his biggest 'sin': his Hot Mummy fetish. This sketchbook theme is philogynistic in nature and even the source of his WIP comic book series "The Sisterhood".

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑

Animated Social Media Icons by Acurax Responsive Web Designing Company
Visit Us On FacebookVisit Us On TwitterVisit Us On YoutubeCheck Our Feed